When a class is archived, this will tuck it away in a separate section of your My Classes page so that you can focus only on your current, active classes.
A class being archived also means that you can view assignments from within that class, but you will no longer be able to complete those assignments or submit responses for any assignments you hadn’t finished.
Classes can only be archived by the teacher of that class. If a class has ended and you don’t wish to have the class visible within your active classes, talk to your teacher about the possibility of archiving it. If they need some help, they can find instructions for arching classes here.